Press Releases2007

May 07, 2007
Chinmay winner of Zee kannada's Sa Ri Ga Ma Pa.

Bangalore, May 07, 2007: Chinmay of Bangalore is declared the winner of Zee Kannada's "Sa Ri Ga Ma Pa", Karnataka's biggest musical talent hunt show. The winner walks away with a brand new Hyundai Santro, an album contract with the prestigious "Ashwini Audio" and gold worth Rs.15,000/- apart from the immense opportunity and popularity. Winner was honoured by the legendary playback singer S.Janaki.

In what could be called one of the most heart warming and splendid musical competition finals, Zee Kannada's Sa Ri Ga Ma Pa finals was held on Sunday in Bangalore's Gyana Jyoti Auditorium between Bangalore's Chinmay and Chitradurga's Sowmyashree. Chinmay emerged as the winner and Sowmyashree walked away with the runners-up title with Rs.50,000/- cash prize and gold worth Rs.10,000/- in her kitty.

Out of over 5000 participants from different districts of Karnataka, 52 were selected for the elimination rounds and Chinmay emerged as the "Singing Star" of Karnataka. The programme had very famous, renowned, learned musicians like Ratnamala Prakash, Raju Ananthaswamy, B K Sumitra, Kasturi Shankar, N S Prasad and Fayaz Khan guiding the young talents all through.

After the initial elimination rounds, the final winner was chosen based on the total number of SMSs received. The programme received over 3 lakhs of SMSs and immense response from people not only from Karnataka but also from other states of India and even people from other countries.

A Three hour final was telecast LIVE on Zee Kannada. The programme witnessed a jam packed audience who were engrossed and entertained by the stunning performances of all the TOP 12 finalists along with performances by other eminent artistes.

Other distinguished guests present were the very famous lyricist R N Jayagopal, Mr.Ramachandran of Hyundai Motors India Limited, Mr.Vishnuvardhan of Bharath, Mr.Anup Chandrasekharan-Business Head of Zee Kannada and Dr.M.Gautham Machaiah-Vice President of Essel Group and Zee Network.

« Back