Press Releases2011

Jan 21, 2011
Mumbai FC are the Champions!!! At the MFL Super Division

Mumbai FC U 21 is crowned champions of the MFL Super Div 10-11. Mumbai FC drubbed Indian Navy 3-1 in the finals to claim the title. Tushar Poojary scored a handsome brace while Rohit Mirza scored the other.

The run of from Indian Navy entered the final with a 100% record in the league beating everyone coming in their way. The team topped both in the group stages and in the playoffs group scored an average of 2 goals a match. On the other hand Mumbai FC stormed into the finals with four back to back wins against teams of good stature. In the semis under 21's demolished Dena back with a 6-0 win.

The match started on a high tempo both teams looked to attack on the go. Indian navy stuck to the long balls while Mumbai FC attacked with their trademark fluid passing. Mumbai FC came close to taking the lead in the 20th Minute when Yarimpie Shang was released on the flank by Sujit Pande but the winger couldn't manage to keep his shot on target.

The boys matched up Navy's physicality with speed and pin point passing. Mumbai FC stoppers tracked every ball and left the Navy forwards frustrated. In a neatly constructed move from the right Jayesh Rane shot for goal but the keeper parried the save to rushing Tushar Poojary who obliged converted. Mumbai FC lead 1-0.

The second half was the same story as Mumbai FC were looking very dominant in the Mid-field as Hildeg Fernandes and Sujit Pande managed to scuff every move. Mumbai FC conceded a penalty in 65' minute mark as Antoni Shibi was guilty of handling the ball inside the box. Parity was restored as Navy converted.

It didn't take long for the Mumbai FC boys to get back the lead as Rohit Mirza scored the very next minute after restart of play.

Tushar Poojary got his 16th of the tournament just before the final whistle and sealed it for Mumbai FC.

Special mentions by Coach Naushad Moosa

'The backline manned by Antoni Shibi, Vinay Jadhav, Sunny D'Souza and Dexter Rodrigues was exceptional and kept everything tight at the back. GK Neeraj Sharma guided the whole team throughout the game and pulled of two great save. Sujit Pandey and Hildeg Fernandes were relentless in their efforts in the mid field. Yarimpie Shang and Rohit Mirza helped the attack brilliantly. Jayesh Rane and Tushar Poojary caused havoc with their pace and dribbling abilities.'

Mumbai FC U 21 claimed the MFL super Div title for the second time in two years. Striker Tushar Poojary was awarded the player of the tournament for his prolific goal scoring.

Mumbai FC's U 21 will head for tours to Chhattisgarh and Orissa in the month of February 2011.

Cheers to Mumbai FC!

« Back