Press Releases2010

Apr 26, 2010
Shakti Mohan wins DID 2

Shakti Mohan wins DID 2
Zee TV announced the winner of the second season of India's biggest dance reality show, DANCE INDIA DANCE. The Grand Finale was held at Shahaji Raje Krida Sankul (Andheri Sports Complex) on April 23rd and telecast LIVE on Zee TV. In an intense, nerve-racking finish, Shakti Mohan was voted the winner by millions of viewers from across the nation. Heartthrob Ranbir Kapoor was the star attraction at the Grand Finale. The crowd went berserk when the winner was announced.

The evening of the Grand Finale was packed with one breathtaking act after another. Be it Remo's spirited act to a medley of Micheal Jackson's chartbusters or Terence's jaw-dropping zip-line entry seated atop the Avatar bird, the crowd couldn't get enough of their favorite masters. Punit's rocking rendition of 'Dhoom', Shakti's spunky jig to Shut Up n Bounce and Chamma Chamma, Binny's mermaid act to the soul-stirring Mar Jawaan and Dharmesh's stunning turn on a giant cassette player prop had the audience begging for more. On public demand, Shakti joined hands with Amar for an encore of the Best duet act of Season 2, Khuda Jane. The audience stood up and applauded when the four finalists performed a special aerial act to Jhoom Barabar Jhoom. As if this wasn't exciting enough, Grand Master Mithun Da joined hands with anchors jay Bhanushali and Saumya Tandon for a comic act that had the audience in splits!

Commenting on the finale, Nitin Vaidya, COO, Zee Entertainment Enterprises Ltd. and Business Head, Zee TV said, Dance India Dance has redefined reality programming on Indian television. Our esteemed mentors, Remo D' Souza, Geeta Kapoor and Terence Lewis have nurtured the participants, creating dancing stars out of dancers. Our honored Grand Master Mithun Chakravarty's steady guidance and grooming has helped us make the show a grand success. With Shakti's victory, the second season of 'Dance India Dance' has surpassed the benchmarks set by the first season. Lux Dance India Dance has offered immensely talented dancing stars to the entertainment industry and will continue to do so. My best wishes to all the finalists for their future endeavors.

Vote Count

- Shakti Mohan- 734140 votes

- Dharmesh Yelande- 730931 votes

- Punit Pathak- 723867 votes

- Binny Sharma- 697914 votes

The winner, as promised, got the Sunheri Taqdeer Ki Topi (The Golden hat). Apart from this, the winner was also bestowed with a contract of Rs. 50 lakhs with Zee TV, a Wagon-R car and an exclusive opportunity to star in Farah Khan's next film 'Tees Maar Khan'.

« Back