Press Releases2011

Nov 23, 2011
ZEE Group's Subhash Chandra receives '2011 International Emmy Directorate Award' in New York City

Subhash Chandra, the Founder of Zee Group (its Zee TV - India's first Hindi satellite channel), received the 2011 International Emmy® Directorate Award. Mr. Chandra made history by becoming the first ever Directorate Award recipient from India. The award was presented at 39th International Emmy® Awards, which took place on Monday, November 21st at the Hilton New York in New York City.

"Subhash Chandra is a one of a kind visionary- a self-made entrepreneur who made his mark on the Indian television industry by launching the first privately-owned channel in India," said Bruce Paisner, President & CEO of The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences. "We happy to present him with our 2011 International Emmy Directorate Award as Zee Entertainment Enterprises prepares to celebrate its 20th anniversary, in 2012."

Remarked Mr. Chandra, "India is the cynosure of the world today and it's a great privilege to be the first Indian recipient of this award. It really means a lot to me, Zee Group and the Indian media and entertainment Industry." He added, "While there have been many representations from India in the areas of technology and retail, this puts India's media industry on the map and raises the profile of India with regards to its media and content."

Richard Parsons, Citigroup chairman and former chairman and CEO of Time Warner, along with Emmy Award-winning actress Archie Panjabi (CBS Network's critically acclaimed hit drama "The Good Wife") present the International Emmy Directorate Award to Mr. Chandra during The International Emmy Awards Gala.

The 39th International Emmy® Awards were hosted by Jason Priestley, who was joined on stage by a cast of international celebrity presenters. Actor, director and producer, Mr. Priestley (Call Me Fitz, Bag of Bones, Beverly Hills 90210) was hosting for the second consecutive year. He was be joined on stage by Mr. Parsons, Ms. Panjabi and a cast of presenters including, Brazilian actor Vladimir Brichta, Jeff Hephner (Starz' Boss), Edward Herrmann (Gilmore Girls), Rick Hoffmann (USA Network's Suits); John Larroquette, Danny Pino (NBC's Law & Order: Special Victims Unit), Ally Sheedy, Blanca Soto (Univision's Eva Luna and El Talismán), Jessica Szohr (Gossip Girl); Wendy Williams (host of syndicated talk show The Wendy Williams Show) and Goku and Luffy (characters from Toei Animation's animated hit Dragon Ball Z and One Piece).

The International Emmy® Awards recognize excellence in television programming produced outside of the United States. 1,000 international entertainment decision-makers from over 50 countries attend the International Emmy® Awards Gala in New York every year. For a list of nominees, visit

« Back