Press Releases2011

May 16, 2011
Zee News Wins Media Cup-2011

Zee News led by Rajesh Thiagraj won the prestigious 'Media Cup' for 2nd year in a row on 10th May by defeating CNBC Awaaz in the finals.

There were a total of 72 teams from the print and electronic media sector competing for the coveted trophy. Teams came from various firms such as India TV, Star News, IBN Lokamt, Prahar, TV 9, CNBC, Times Now, Indian Express, Times of India, NDTV, Aaj Tak, etc. It was a complete knock-out tournament where in you lose a match and you are out of the tournament but Zee News held its nerve and won 6 matches on the trot to lift the cup. En-route to the final the team defeated IBN Lokmat in the quarter finals and Prahar in the semis and completed the tournament with a victory over CNBC awaaz in the final.

The tournament this year was sponsored by Lodha Group, the real estate developer based in Mumbai and the inauguration ceremony was lit up by the presence of former Indian Cricketers Kiran More and Lalchand Rajput. Kiran More is also the former Chairman of the Selection Committee of BCCI where as Lalchand Rajput was the Manager of Indian Cricket Team when they won the inaugural T20 World Championship. The concluding ceremony was graced by the presence of former Deputy Chief Minister of Maharashtra Mr. R.R.Patil who handed over the trophy to the victorious Zee News side.

Initial matches were played at Purandare Ground where as the semi-finals and the final were played at the Police Gymkhana.
Adding to the team's joy was Nandadeep Tambe being chosen as the 'Best Bowler' of the tournament and Suyog Redij being chosen the 'Man of The Series'. Other members of the team included Capt. Rajesh Thiagraj, Viraj Hatiskar, Praful Parihar, Siddhesh Shellar, Chaitanya Ghate, Vineet Dambhare, Sandeep Naik, Hemant Birje, Suryakant Garje, and Vidyasagar Kokitkar.

Kudos for zee news team…

« Back